Born of Lightning

Image: Pixabay

I am born of lightning, fire and ice conjoined, a melding of dragon’s breath and poison. Mighty Odin, what seek you? Why birth me from my slumber, tear me asunder from stars blazing. I go through Voids unknowable, my sightless eyes piercing, my soundless voice shouting. Shall I prophesy, hold to account, reveal the hidden? I shall do your bidding, Birther of Seers, Elder God, Rune Lord. What do you answer to? Let me whisper it, mouth to ear, that which is your true self, your true name.

I rise from Nothingness, ride on bolts of fire and sear like a brand. I have no tales to tell, only knowledge forgotten, the song is not mine but will be soon. Send me the runes for I cannot foretell that which is hidden. The visions come like waves upon the shore. Bringing echoes of memories of war and of sadness, of worlds lost and regained. Our future selves consign us to a past they consider broken, thought of as meaningless, shadowed wraiths forgotten. Shall I prophesy, hold to account, reveal the hidden?

I see you hang upon the Tree, blood and tears conjoining, tearing apart that which is divine, hidden, glimpsed only in shadows. A worthy sacrifice, Elder God. Did you find what you were seeking? Did your pain rend the veils, walls of stone and disbelief? Knowledge such as yours does not come easily, has to be wooed and soothed with humility. You stand between worlds, changed beyond comprehension, not as you were before but something else. Such illumination is both burden and blessing.

I am born of lightning, fire and ice conjoined, a melding of dragon’s breath and poison. You see me hang upon the Tree, blood and tears conjoining, tearing apart that which is human, hidden, glimpsed only in shadows. Shall I prophesy, hold to account, and reveal the hidden?

2 comments on “Born of Lightning

  1. This is really beautiful and powerful, it fits the photo so well!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

