Surrealist Quotes

th

Image: Lifehack quotes

As Sunday afternoon sashays into Sunday evening my spirit is moved towards the ridiculous and surreal. A place hidden well in fluid shadows and cascading stardust. The great masters of the art, sorry, Art, move into view. Here are words of wisdom and perhaps also discordance from a few of my favourite Surrealists.

White Rabbit stares at me and looks, em, slightly impressed.

“Hidden shadows and cascading stardust?” he mutters. Then winks at me. This girl done good.

light

Image: Imgarcade.com

I know it well…

thK60FSLG2

Image: SURREALISMART.ORG

I’m still searching.

thXE6GOX37

Image: SURREALISMART.ORG

Mysteries can be unveiled, revealed, made known. That is part of our journey.

FIN

6 comments on “Surrealist Quotes

  1. This is profound. Makes me wish I had some artistic talent, too.

    “All my life, my heart has yearned for a thing I cannot name.” – Breton.

    If that doesn’t say it all, nothing does. I never know what’s going to strike me as somehow transcendent and bring tears. Last time it was a group of four girls singing a popular song I’d never heard before. I don’t even care much for popular music. Here’s the link in case you’re curious:

    Ahttps://www.youtube.com/watch?v=d6Jj4mtDWnInd

    πŸ™‚

    Like

    • janmalique says:

      For me those words sum up the human experience. As for your comment about wishing you had some artistic talent. You do. What are you doing on your blog but creating visions, images and emotions with words? As long as you’re enjoying what you’re doing your spirit is happy. I tended to worry about the quality of my writing, etc. That’s a delimiting mindset. We’d have something to worry about if we had people trolling us… πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Interesting post and quotes. I like Leavitt’s quote quite a bit. I think of surreal as a fact (art, event, experience) that is witnessed yet beyond our comprehension (or comprehension lingers at the fringes, unable to be fully grasped). πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    • janmalique says:

      I agree with your point about surreal, Leavitt’s quote resonates strongly with me. Thinking about it, our perceptions of the world are individual to us and may not pertain to actual reality.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

