New Writing Prize – Wasafiri Magazine


Image: Wasafir

I came across this exciting morsel recently, it looks worth submitting to.

International Contemporary Writing

The Wasafiri New Writing Prize 2017 is now open!

We welcome submissions in one of three categories: Poetry, Fiction and Life Writing (the competition is open to anyone who has not published a complete book in the category entered).

Simply fill in the entry form and send it to us with your entry and fee of UK Sterling £6.00 if entering one category, £10.00 for two and £15.00 for three categories.

The closing date is 5pm GMT on 14 July 2017.

Please click here to download an entry form, or email Only entries with an accompanying entry form will be accepted.

£300 will be awarded to the winner of each category and the work will be published in Wasafiri.

1. The competition is open to any nationality and any age group.
2. The word limit is 3000 maximum (or a maximum of 5 poems).
3. Work submitted must not have been previously published (this includes self-publishing and publishing on websites, personal or otherwise) or have won a prize in another competition.
4. Work must be typed, double-spaced, on A4 paper, single sided only.
5. Do not write your name or provide any other form of identification on your manuscript. All submissions will be considered without the judges knowing the identity of the entrant.
6. Do not enter more than one poem on a single page.
7. Work will only be accepted if accompanied by an official entry form and fee. If you require acknowledgement of receipt, entries must also be accompanied by a stamped addressed postcard.
8. We regret that manuscripts cannot be altered after submission.
9. If emailing your manuscript, please send it as a Word attachment. Do not paste it into the body of an email. Please also provide a list of accompanying documentation (e.g. Paypal confirmation; entry form; delivery of cheque).
10. All electronic submissions will receive an acknowledgement.
11. Fee is per category: the entrant can submit a maximum of one entry per category – in the Poetry category, one submission can include five poems.
12. Entries must be received at Wasafiri no later than 5pm GMT on 14 July 2017. We regret that we cannot accept entries received after this date.
13. The judges’ decision is final. No correspondence or discussion concerning the judges’ decision will be entered into.
14. The copyright will remain with the winning authors. Acceptance of the prize will indicate the author’s agreement to their work being published in Wasafiri and inclusion in a possible anthology of the best work received.
15. Shortlisted entries will be published on the Wasafiri website.
16. Wasafiri reserves the right to edit the winning entries.
17. Failure to meet the conditions of entry will mean that a submission is automatically disqualified from the competition.
18. No person may win more than one prize.
19. The competition is not open to members of the Wasafiri Board.
20. Shortlisted authors will be notified by email and will be invited to the prize-giving event (date and venue tbc).
21. A list of shortlisted authors will be published on the Wasafiri website in Autumn 2017 and can be posted out if requested.
22. Manuscripts will not be returned.
23. The entry fee is non-refundable.

We are delighted to announce that this year’s judges are…

Susheila Nasta MBE (Chair) Founding Editor of Wasafiri and Emeritus Professor of Modern Literature at the Open University.

Sabrina Mahfouz Award-winning poet, playwright and screenwriter and former Sky Arts Scholar for Poetry, Mahfouz’s work has been performed in the UK and the US.

Andrea Stuart Writer and historian, author of Showgirls which was adapted for stage and screen, and the award-winning The Rose of Martinique: A Biography of Napoleon’s Josephine,
Boyd Tonkin World renowned writer and journalist, currently Writer and Art Critic at The Independent and Chair of the Man Booker Prize.

Background to the prize:

The path to literary success can sometimes seem elusive, even for those with talent. So, in 2009, the Wasafiri New Writing Prize was launched to support new writers, with no limits on age, gender, nationality or background.

With a list of high profile judges over the years including Brian Chikwava, Colin Grant, Maya Jaggi, Jackie Kay, Tabish Khair, Toby Litt and Blake Morrison, the NWP has boosted the confidence of writers in competitive times. In the words of one winner: ‘Before I was shortlisted I was … convinced I was never going to write another poem again .. thank you so much for this, I never … want to stop writing.’