The Premature Burial Of My Idealism: A Post Lost In The Ether

cemetery-663418_1920

Dear readers, I present to you a tale involving a frustrated writer, an alleged incidence of premature burial and IT issues. This post is a replacement for one that disappeared into the ether due to loss of internet connectivity. My original article detailed the loss of idealism in a world gone mad, buried prematurely never to be seen again. Or so it seemed. My annoyance is somewhat muted, what can I do now except attempt to retell my story. I was amending the original post with the addition of one photo, saved it several times as the process was a little slow. This wasn’t on my laptop but on a tablet, curse the damn thing!  Next thing my efforts had disappeared into the great digital badlands. Noooooo! This isn’t the first time it’s happened. The internet connection in our area is, how can I say this? Crap. There is no polite way of saying it.

I better retrace my steps then. The original post was a continuation of a recent visit to the Museum of Liverpool, the main focus of its displays tracing the history of the city. The last time I’d visited the city and a friend who lives there, was 8 years ago. It was lovely to see both individuals. Cities are rather like people, having a persona which is obviously unique to them. It was a lovely sunny and warm day, which makes a great difference. Terrible thing to admit, my life has been a cultural desert for a while.  Many reasons for this state of being but I won’t elaborate on this occasion. The Museum exhibits chronicling the social history of the city were fascinating. They were a treasure-house of memories, not always pleasant. Poverty, migration, social and economic struggles, faith, war, industrial development, prehistory, colonialism. The people of this city had experienced much and were seasoned troopers fighting for a better life. The displays were well curated and fascinating. It brought back good and bad memories for me. I assume it was the same for the legions of visitors who were local. It took me back to my younger days, when I was an individual fired by idealism and a strong sense of justice. The 80s and 90s were quite challenging times but there were many like minded people who mobilised to create a better society for all. I went on marches, attended events, petitioned all in the name of social change, human rights and trade unionism. The Three Horsemen of the Apocalypse were still waiting for their fourth companion and the world hadn’t quite approached the Abyss yet.

AdobePhotoshopExpress_251315819dda4796b005fb2620860bf9

Copyright Jan Malique

As time progressed my idealism sank into a coma like sleep, eventually succumbing to a premature burial. Activitism is still an important part of my life, so perhaps my not quite departed idealism is still being channelled. Don’t worry my dear, I’ll rescue you. Advances in technology mean that huge numbers of people can be mobilised to take part in e-activisim and petitions. Which is wonderful, but a part of me laments the fact the world has became such a noisy place. Just thinking of all the thoughts, emotions and feelings of everyone on this planet floating around us is rather mind-blowing. Negative environments and people generate unhealthy energies, which eventually take their toll. Perhaps I’ve became quite sensitised over time, a little cynical maybe about human nature. A struggle has been going on between the inner and outer worlds for a long time. The two have seen fit to call a truce and meet on occasion, my aim is to unite them in perfect harmony. G I Gurdjieff encapsulated this sentiment in the following quote:

“I will tell you one thing that will make you rich for life. There are two struggles: an Inner-world struggle and an Outer-world struggle…you must make an intentional contact between these two worlds; then you can crystallize data for the Third World, the World of the Soul.”
G.I. Gurdjieff

So Mote it Be! Here ends this journey and another begins. See you on the other side.

Leave a Reply

